"Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant,
and whoever wants to be first must be slave of all."
(Mark 10: 43-44)

Parish Council

“A parish is a definite community of the Christian faithful established on a stable basis within a particular church; the pastoral care of the parish is entrusted to a pastor as its own Shepherd under the authority of the diocesan bishop.” (Canon 515)

A pastoral council  acts as a consultative body in assisting the pastor in maintaining the Christian life of the parish community. Pastoral council members are representative of the various constituencies that form the parish family and have a vested interest in the life and development of the parish.

The parish council for the new parish of Mary, Mother of Mercy, had their first meeting on June 8, 2016. The meeting, among other things, was an organizational meeting with the election of an executive committee and appointments to the standing committees.

Executive committee: Cathy Millspaugh (cmillsy532@gmail.com), chair; Barbara Willers (bdwillers1@gmail.com), vice chair; Kathleen Rourke (kathleen8@fltg.net), secretary
Word committee: Andrew Morpurgo (amorpurgo@twcny.rr.com), chair; Pam Jasikoff; Jeanie Wiggins; Scott Hamula
Worship committee: Jessica Portillo (jportillo@ithaca.edu), chair; Michelle Barr; Amy Panek; Gerry Frank
Witness committee: Donna Brandow (brandon.donna@yahoo.com), chair; Charlotte Huyler, Susan Houseknecht
Fellowship committee: Nancy Shumway (littlepadrepio@yahoo.com), chair; Phyllis Kaiser; Ron Singer; Susan Houseknecht

The council only meets from 4 to 8 times a year but its effect on the parish is important. For more information about the council please see the Pastoral Council Guidelines for Mary, Mother of Mercy Parish 2016.

Minutes and agendas of the Mother, Mother of Mercy, Parish Council’s meetings are available here.

Mary, Mother of Mercy, Parish Council Members 2016–2017 (as of September 8, 2016)

Michelle Barr

Donna Brandow

Fr. Brendan Buckley

Susan Houseknecht

Charlotte Huyler

Pam Jasikoff

Phyllis Kaiser

Fr. Bernard Maloney

Cathy Millspaugh, chair

Andy Morpurgo

Amy Panek

Jessica Portillo

Kathleen Rourke, secretary

Nancy Shumway

Ron Singer

Jean Wiggins

Barbara Willers, vice chair


Gerry Frank

Scott Hamula




Mass Times:
Weekend Masses:

• Saturday, 5:00 p.m. at St. James the Apostle, Trumansburg
• Sunday, 8:15 a.m. at St. Francis Solanus, Interlaken
• Sunday, 9:30 a.m. at Holy Cross, Ovid
• Sunday, 11:00 a.m. at St. James the Apostle, Trumansburg

Weekday Mass times:

• St. James the Apostle, Trumansburg: Communion service on Monday at 9:00 a.m. and Mass Tuesday through Friday at 9:00 a.m.
• St. Francis Solanus in Interlaken: Mass on Wednesday at 9:00 a.m.
• Holy Cross in Ovid: Mass on Fridays at 8:30 a.m. in the parish meeting house

Sacrament of Penance/Confession:
Saturdays, 3:30–4:30 p.m. at St. James the Apostle in Trumansburg or by appointment with a priest.

© 2020 St. James the Apostle
17 Whig St
Trumansburg, NY 14886
Diocese of Rochester

Scroll to top ↑
Roman Catholic Diocese of Rochester   ·   1150 Buffalo Road   ·   Rochester, NY 14624
DOR Safe Environment Info   ·   www.dor.org